Know the Ropes…

Deborah reflects on her first placement…

And so my time at TUI Marine in sunny Florida is sadly coming to an end. I guess a spot of reflection is in order; what have I learned during my time at Marine?

In a business sense I cannot begin to describe the wealth of information that I have taken in over the past 3 months. I have been thrown into a business area, in which I have no previous experience, and was not only asked to perform, but was in fact expected to perform. The TUI Marine office out here has now had a steady stream of graduates, each raising the standards for the next. Fortunately, I have received some really positive feedback about my performance here and so I’m really happy that I have added value to the business as well as developing my personal skills and knowledge of this business division.

I consider it a great personal achievement to have come in to the business at the beginning of a project and to leave as the product is actually being launched. It has been great to have experienced the highs and the lows as the project has developed from a long list of business requirements to a product that will bring additional revenue into the business, while also simplifying and eventually standardizing business processes at Marine bases across the globe.

During my time at Marine I have also had the opportunity to sit in on meetings with different teams in the business and with the division CEO, Jonathan Grisdale. This allowed me to gain a better understanding of the range of projects that are going on at a divisional level and the benefits these will bring to the business; whether that be in the form of revenue, cost-savings, process efficiencies etc…

Of course I have also had my bad days here and in many ways the 5 Marine businesses still have a long way to go till they are really reaping the benefits of working together under the TUI brand. However, I have never experienced working with a team of people who are so passionate about their work and determined to make their business a success and for this reason I expect great things from TUI Marine in the coming years. And who knows…maybe I’ll be back!

Categories: Deborah | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Know the Ropes…

  1. Jonathon Curtis

    Hmmm, that photo looks familiar…

  2. Deborah Grieve

    Can’t have too much of a good thing…! 😉

  3. Sounds like you’ve had a fantastic time and achieved a lot. It’s great that you are leaving with the feeling that you’ve added value the company as well as your own development.

    Looking forward to hearing more about it next week at L&D! x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

