Jen’s been having a Ball!

Jennifer gives us the low-down on schmoozing with pop stars and living it up in Florida

The Wanted

The Wanted perform at the iExplore Ball

It has been a while since I lasted blogged and a lot has happened over the last few months. To catch everyone up, my last placement was based in London working on a charity event, The iExplore Ball. This was a charity ball, hosted by iExplore, in support of the charity Street Child World Cup. This is an international charity which works to raise awareness and promote the plight of street children around the world through the medium of football.

The Ball included fantastic performances from The Wanted, Escala and Go West. I was involved in all aspects of organizing and promoting the Ball, implementing a ticketing system, organizing staff for the event and working closely with suppliers, designers and the production team to ensure that everything went perfectly on the night. It turned out to be a fantastic event, raising £70,000 on the night and everyone had a brilliant time. I even got to meet The Wanted.

Luxury Yacht

I spend most of my time these days riding around in Luxury Yachts.

After all of that excitement I am now on my next placement working with TUI Marine which is based in Clearwater, Florida. Here I am working on the customer user experience for the new Le Boat website. As I have never worked in an ecommerce role before it is something really different and exciting, though trying to communicate across three different time zones can create some difficulties. I am currently working on creating audit templates, analyzing data to create a new search function and supporting the UX design for the new website. In addition to this I am also developing a business plan for a new luxury yacht charter business for TUI Marine and have even had the opportunity to go onboard one of these $5m yachts!!!

This really is a fantastic opportunity to learn how the Marine industry operates and I have been making the most of my time here through attending meetings across different functions of the business and getting involved everything that I can.

Of course living in sunny Florida has some advantages and I am making the most of my time here sunbathing, swimming, hang gliding, tubing, going to cookouts for Memorial Day, it’s tough trying to fit everything in!

As I write this I realize what fantastic opportunities I have had on this program so far. At times it has been challenging, and moving every three months does present some difficulties, however I can say without doubt that it has definitely been worth it!

Categories: Jennifer | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

