All Go, and some Snow!

Debs reflects on a busy few months…

Boarding

Boarding in Les Menuires

So it’s been a while since my last blog entry and while I’d like to blame this on limited internet connectivity, the truth is I was probably out on the slopes! Let’s back up a little. Following on from my placement with JCA, I was offered the incredible opportunity to do a resort-based operations and customer service placement with SkiBound France, in the Alps!! Fast forward a few days (literally!) and a mad panic buy of ski gear and I find myself in the 1850m ski haven of Les Menuires. With 160km of pistes, doorstep skiing and 3m snowfall in the first week alone it was very easy to forget that I was actually there to do some work! Skiing aside though, this was actually my most rewarding placement so far as I was able to see for myself how all the work put in in the UK office translates for the customer in resort. It also allowed me to see where we might be able to improve working relationships between staff in the UK and our resort-based teams.

In February, the grads all regrouped back in Crawley for our last Learning & Development week on the Grad Program. As with each L&D week, Ed and Jen were on hand to offer some helpful training and advice to set us up for our final few months as grads and to assist in our career planning following the program. We also retook our Insights Test, and though none of us have changed very dramatically (disappointing) we did get some shiny new lego blocks (result!).

I am now based back in Port Solent, this time with the Marine Division, working in a Project Management role as part of a division-wide business strategy project. I have been tasked with looking after 19 projects in the online improvement workstream – arguably one of the key workstreams in the overall scope of the project!

The job hunt is on!

Thankfully I have a great team around me to offer support and to help get me quickly up to speed on the project. I am also working on the testing stages of a new website launch for one of our brands as I specifically wanted to develop my skills in ecommerce.

When I somehow find a spare minute, I am busy updating my CV and applying for jobs so that I can hopefully transition from my final placement into a project management or business development role. Wish me luck!

Categories: Deborah | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

